ica releases 2022 summer round-up agenda

may 9, 2022

The Idaho Cattle Association (ICA) has released the agenda for it's 2022 Summer Round-Up, to be held in Pocatello, Idaho. The event will be held June 6-7 and will feature speakers on topics pertinent to the Idaho cattle industry landscape. Additionally, participants will have the option to either attend a range tour in the Mink Creek/Portneuf Wildlife Management Area or the annual golf tournament. Early registration closes May 23rd. 

Contact [email protected] with questions. Limited sponsorships still available.  

 View the agenda

Register here


MARCH 29, 2022

The Idaho Cattle Association Resource Guide contains contact information for ICA staff & leadership, State & Federal government agencies, elected officials & industry associations. It is formatted in an easy to carry, digest-sized guide that can be referenced year round. The guide is distributed to all ICA members and is available to pick up at events throughout the year.  The annual Resource Guide also lists feedlot owners & operators, purebred producers and allied industry resources. The listing is FREE for members of ICA and non-members may be listed for a $50 fee. Additional advertising options are available as well. 

Contact [email protected] with questions. 



MARCH 15, 2022

The Idaho Public Lands Council (IPLC) and Idaho Cattle Association (ICA) are jointly seeking one student for a 2022 internship position.  Interested applicants should have completed at least their sophomore year of undergraduate coursework or be a recent college graduate in agriculture, range, or public policy or an agriculture-related field. This is a full-time, temporary position. The work hours for this position will be approximately 40 hours per week. The spring/summer intern will occasionally have to work over 40 hours because of evening or weekend meetings or events, including the ICA Summer Round-Up.     


 The applicant should be a self-motivated individual who possesses excellent analytical and communication skills. Applicants should specify how their background provides them with the proper knowledge and abilities to excel in this internship. Cattle industry knowledge is required.  A basic understanding of public lands grazing and rangeland management is preferred.  

 View the full description

 Apply here 

MULTIPLE Comment Submissions open

October 12, 2021

WOTUS : Tell the federal government that you oppose overly restrictive regulations that will tie the hands of farmers and ranchers on conservation work. Cattle producers are some of America’s original environmental stewards and they provide crucial conservation benefits to our air, land, and water every day. They need regulatory clarity so they can keep running their operations, safeguarding our clean waterways, and feeding our nation.

NEPA : PLC worked with the Trump Administration to streamline NEPA and ensure the process wasn’t a hindrance to the important work livestock producers do to safeguard our natural resources. We have met several times with CEQ under the Biden Administration sending the same message. The 45-day public comment period will close on November 21, and you can submit comments via the PLC.

LABELING OF CELL-CULTURED PRODUCTS : The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) published Sept 2 an advance notice of proposed rulemaking (ANPR) to solicit comments and information regarding the labeling of meat and poultry products made using cultured cells derived from animals under FSIS jurisdiction. FSIS will use these comments to inform future regulatory requirements for the labeling of such food products. The 60 day comment submission window closes on November 2, 2021. 

Please see the individual links for further information on each topic and reach out to our office with questions, concerns or submissions. 


AUGUST 27, 2021

Congratulations to the 2021 Idaho CattleWomen Scholarship Recipients! Students were selected from across the state and each receives a $1,000 scholarship to continue their education. Read more about each winner here. The Idaho CattleWomen would also like to thank individuals that support the scholarship program. 

an open letter to bill gates

march 9, 2021

Bill Gates was recently interviewed by MIT Technology Review, where he claimed that "rich nations should switch entirely to synthetic beef". (MIT Technology Review

In her Line Rider article this month, ICA Natural Resources Policy Director, Karen Williams wrote an open letter to Mr. Gates detailing how his words have the potential to deeply affect American cattle producers. In response to Gates' claim that switching to synthetic beef will help reduce the climate change issue, Karen responded that  "Not only do cattle NOT present a significant threat in the climate change dialogue, but they actually provide a host of opportunities for improved carbon storage in landscapes across the country." 

Read Karen's article here